“Meri Maati Mera Desh: A Grand Celebration of India’s Independence and Heroic Sacrifices”


In a momentous tribute to India’s 75 years of Independence, the Government of India is gearing up to launch a mega nationwide public participation program titled ‘Meri Maati Mera Desh’ (My Soil My Country). Encompassing five pivotal components, including the installation of statues of martyrs, hoisting the national flag on every home, and the creation of an Amrit Vatika, this initiative marks a profound expression of gratitude and patriotism. The program, propelled by the tagline ‘Mitti ko naman, veeron ka vandan,’ is a momentous people-led “Jan bhagidari” (public participation) undertaking jointly planned by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Ministry of Culture. Unveiled by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in his 103rd edition of Mann Ki Baat, ‘Meri Maati Mera Desh’ is set to captivate the nation’s spirit from August 9 to August 31.

Honoring 75 Years of Independence:

As India embarks on the 75th year of Independence, the ‘Meri Maati Mera Desh’ program seeks to celebrate the nation’s numerous achievements and commemorate the selfless sacrifices of its bravehearts. This nationwide homage involves a series of ceremonies that will be organized at various levels, from the grassroots to the national stage, to pay tribute to the valiant ‘Veers’ (bravehearts) who have protected the nation’s integrity and sovereignty.

Five Components of 'Meri Maati Mera Desh':

1. Erecting Statues and Name Plates of Martyrs:

At the heart of the ‘Meri Maati Mera Desh’ program lies the installation of statues of martyrs and the dedication of nameplates to them. This act of veneration aims to immortalize the heroic acts of those who laid down their lives in service to the country. As their stories resonate through these monuments, future generations will be inspired by their unwavering courage and devotion to India.

2. Paying Tributes to the Martyrs:

The program extends beyond mere installations, with elaborate ceremonies planned at various levels to pay heartfelt tributes to the martyrs. From local communities to national gatherings, these ceremonies will express the nation’s profound gratitude and respect for the sacrifices made by these noble souls.

3. Collecting Soil from Every Block for Amrit Vatika:

Central to the program’s theme is the creation of an Amrit Vatika, a sacred garden or space that symbolizes India’s heritage, unity, and collective spirit. To construct this sacred Vatika, soil will be collected from every block across the nation, signifying the blending of every region’s essence and diversity into a harmonious whole.

4. Hoisting of National Flag at Every Home:

As a powerful gesture of unity and pride, the ‘Meri Maati Mera Desh’ initiative encourages citizens to hoist the national flag on their homes. This collective display of the tricolor will not only symbolize India’s freedom but also instill a sense of responsibility and patriotism in every citizen.

5. Taking the Pledge of Panch Pran:

The final component of the program involves taking the pledge of Panch Pran, which embodies five fundamental principles that epitomize the essence of being an Indian. This pledge will serve as a reminder of the shared values that bind the nation together and inspire individuals to contribute to the growth and prosperity of the country.


‘Meri Maati Mera Desh’ is more than just a program; it is a heartfelt expression of the nation’s gratitude, unity, and collective strength. As India marks 75 years of independence, this initiative aims to infuse the spirit of patriotism and national pride into every citizen’s heart. From the humblest village to the grandest city, this people-led “Jan bhagidari” program will celebrate the sacrifices of the past, cherish the present, and inspire a brighter future for the nation. Through ‘Meri Maati Mera Desh,’ India will reaffirm its commitment to its bravehearts, its heritage, and its indomitable spirit of unity in diversity.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *